Vegan dishes make potlucks more inclusive

When I go to potlucks I’ve noticed a lot of people bring dishes with meat in them. I’ve had a ton of vegetarian and some vegan friends and I always felt like they were being excluded, so I’d always try to make something that’s at least vegetarian friendly. It’s super easy to make substitutions in recipes to be inclusive of vegans and vegetarians!

For example, I made a vegan green bean casserole for my Thanksgiving potluck as well as a friend’s potluck, and it went over super well, even with the non-vegans/vegetarians. I thought it was pretty delicious, too.

I followed the regular Campbell’s recipe except I substituted Original Blue Diamond Almond Breeze Almondmilk for the 1/2 cup of milk and one cup of Imagine Creamy Portabello Mushroom Soup for the canned cream of mushroom soup.

The Imagine soup isn’t concentrated like Campbell’s cream of mushroom soup, so I opted to use less for my version of the recipe. If I would have matched the amount of soup to the Campbell’s can, I would have had to use 1 1/4 cups of soup, but I figured that would make the casserole too runny. Next time I might reduce the Imagine soup on the stove top, or maybe add cornstarch to thicken it up. But maybe not.

 

Leave a comment